Indiana Economic Digest | Indiana
Advanced Search

• Most Recent

home : most recent : most recent July 21, 2017

7/15/2017 6:42:00 PM
Legislative committee to study wind energy in Indiana

James Sprague, Connersville News-Examiner Editor

Wind farms have been, for the past few years, a source of discussion amongst many of the residents of Fayette, Rush, Henry and Wayne counties, given the several proposed wind projects in the works which would include those counties.

Now, it appears, the topic will be discussed among members of the Indiana Legislature, as well.

The Legislature’s Interim Study Committee on Energy, Utilities and Telecommunications has quite a few topics on its agenda for its summer study session, and among those will be wind energy in Indiana.

A meeting has yet to be scheduled for the committee this summer, but when they do meet, they are charged with specifically studying the construction of wind power devices in Indiana, along with the health effects, public safety implications, issues of property valuation, policies defining conflicts of interest and issues concerning economic development.

The discussion comes on the heels of a 2017 Indiana Legislative session where Rep. Tom Saunders of District 54 (R-Lewisville), and Rep. Dick Hamm of District 56 R-Richmond), authored House Bill 1597 in January – which sought minimum setback distances for wind power devices – with the bill later referred to the Committee on Utilities, Energy and Telecommunications.

Wind energy is among four topics the summer study committee will discuss, along with self-generation of electricity by school corporations, rental rates and other fees for the attachment of communications service facilities on utility poles that are owned or controlled by electricity suppliers and rural broadband internet service throughout the state.

Participating in the summer committee are Senators James Merritt of District 31 (R-Indianapolis); Mike Bohacek of District 8 (R-Michiana Shores): Erin Houchin of District 47 (R-Salem); Eric Koch of District 44 (R-Bedford); Democratic and Minority Floor Leader Timothy Lanane of District 25 (D-Anderson); Lonnie Randolph of District 2 (D-East Chicago); Mark Stoops of District 40 (D-Bloomington); and Representatives Ryan Hatfield of District 77 (R-Evansville); Karlee Macer of District 92 (D-Indianapolis); Alan Morrison of District 42 (R-Seelyville); David Ober of District 82 (R-Albion); Matt Pierce of District 61 (D-Bloomington); Mike Speedy of District 90 (R-Indianapolis); and Heath VanNatter of District 38 (R-Kokomo).

Related Stories:
• COMMENTARY: Property and wind turbines - A missing point in the discussion
• Taylor University takes down wind turbines because of cost of repairs
• Two companies want to put wind turbines into Montgomery County
• Wind farm going up in Jay, Randolph counties

Copyright 2017 The News-Examiner

Editor, John C. DePrez Jr.; Executive Editor, Carol Rogers; Publishers: IBRC and IAR

Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved